September 19, 2009

  • SUMMER!!

    Life is going by so quickly

    Hardly a moment to rest
     
    Some stuff fun, some not

    There’s much going on:  

    I ripped my calf muscle in August (I’m finally able to walk better now)

    Elizabeth started college

    Valerie is loves to take pictures
     
    Julie is becoming an amazing artist (and a good cook!)

    Gracie is taking guitar
       
    work has been steady for Steve

    my cholesterol dropped 90 points without medication (diet – down to 184)

    Elizabeth attends my counseling classes with me

    Val hit her head at the end of July and has been having headaches :(
     
    Julie is learning to play bass

    Gracie is turning into a little woman

    I have lost some weight!

    Steve is hoping to get these Wellsfargo jobs that will keep him busy for probably two years

    Elizabeth is looking for a child care/nanny job

    Valerie teaches two ballet classes

    Julie keeps reminding me she will learn to drive next year

    Gracie is in junior high this year
     
    I am almost finished with my biblical counceling classes (will get certified soon)
      
    Elizabeth has been writing more music

    Valerie and Julie are taking singing lessons

    Gracie is learning to be more independent in schooling.

    This week the season turns to fall
     
    although here in so Cal we are having indian summer (81 right now at 4:30pm)

    Looking forward to cold nights and fires (indoors)
     
    and hopefully some rain (we need it bad). 
     
    I’ll leave you with this:

    “Therefore, since we are surrounded by so great a cloud of witnesses, let us also lay aside every weight, and sin which clings so closely, and let us run with endurance the race that is set before us, looking to Jesus, the founder and perfecter of our faith, who for the joy that was set before him endured the cross, despising the shame, and is seated at the right hand of the throne of God.” Hebrews 12:1-2
      
    ~Di

Comments (7)

  • What a great summer re-cap, Diane. 

    Glad things are going well, and yes, time sure does fly by way too fast! blessings to you & yours!

  • You were one of my very first subscribers and that has been at least 5 years now.  What changes have taken place.  It’s just amazing to see how those girls are growing and accomplishing so much!  Congratulations on the weight loss.  Losing excess weight is so difficult since we all have to eat and the hard part is knowing…how much? and when to stop and what is satisfying that doesn ‘t add pounds.   Healthy weight is so much better for your joints and cardio…to say nothing of the fact that it’s just more fun to buy clothes.!  Keep up the good work.

    God Bless.

  • It is so good to see you and your family. Your girls are getting so big!

  • Hi Diane,

    I loved your picture post of summer break, your girls are growing up sweet!

    Sounds like all is great, congrats on the weight loss. I have been away from Xanga as I do Facebook more now but am trying to get back over here to my first love blog…lols. Anywho just stopping in to say hi & i’m still alive !

  • Where is your daughter going to college?  I was just asking because my brother went to Cal State Long Beach and was a senior in the Music Education Department.  He just passed away on October 19th and was wondering if she had met him.  I thought you had lived in that area, but I could be wrong.  Hope your fall is as wonderful as your summer seems to have been.

  • @travisandkristen - Oh Kristen!! I’m so very, very sorry to hear about your brother.  What happened?

    Yes we live near Long Beach but she just goes to the Jr College here by us.  Praying for you and your family!!

  • Thank you for your prayers.  They are greatly needed right now.  He was just not feeling well just before midnight that Sunday.  He was watching a movie with his roommates and then went to the bathroom.  He threw up and his one of his roommates went to check on him.  Kyle said he was okay, just not feeling well.  30, maybe 40, minutes later they went back to check on him, he didn’t answer so they opened the bathroom door.  He wasn’t breathing.  They said he had already started turning blue.  Called 911, did CPR, the EMT guys worked on him as well and couldn’t get a response at all.  He was just gone.  When the Lord calls you home, it is your time to go.  I know that.  I am just struggling with things.  Out of everyone in my family, I was closest to him.  My husband has been so great through all of this.  It is hard trying to comfort my kids as they were close to him as well.  Kyle knew a lot of people and touched many lives.  We had over 200 at a memorial service the Saturday after he passed and over 300 at a memorial concert that same evening.  They have also set up a scholarship in his name for Music Educators at Cal State Long Beach.  He had also gone to Mt. SAC for three years and was apart of their chior that traveled around the world to sing in competitions.  He was a bass, and truly gifted.  I’m sorry.  I don’t know why I keep going on like this.  Again, thank you for the prayers.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *